Levels of Home Care

Skilled Home Health

  • Skilled or licensed clinicians
  • A Dr's order is necessary
  • Must meet Homebound status
  • Medicare and private insurance will pay
  • Must continue to meet the need
  • You can choose your provider
  • Services are intermittent and temporary

"Non-skilled home care"

  • No doctor's order necessary
  • Non-medical and personal care
  • Personal care; CNA assisting with personal care and activities of daily living
  • Private pay, long term care insurance
  • Start and stop at any time, for any duration
  • For personal care services, quarterly assessment by an RN and regular documentation is required

Hospice and Palliative Care

  • The goal of hospice is quality of life
  • Ongoing support to family and caregivers
  • Paid for by medicare with doctor's order
  • Patients are qualified for hospice based on their diagnosis of a terminal debilitating illness
  • "Non-skilled" home care can be utilized at the same time
  • Palliative care can be utilized for those who do not qualify for hospice but need chronic disease management including pain management

Information provided by Pam Reynolds of Allegiance Home Care

View the post on Facebook